Between Gigs

Crispy Gamer has kept me very busy for the last month or so. There are two new reviews for you to check out that were written by yours truly.

I absolutely love Frontlines: Fuel of War. I think it’s already one of the most underrated games of 2008. I’m going to be partaking of the Battlefield: Bad Company online beta on Xbox 360, probably soon after I finish typing this and playing some more Gran Turismo 5: Prologue, but Bad Company is going to have to be really phenomenal to pull me away from Frontlines.

You can find out in my review just why I liked it so much, and obviously I was lucky to not have technical problems like some folks did, but suffice to say it’s so good because it’s laser focused on taking and holding ground. There are a lot of jobs you can perform, but everyone’s an attacker or defender and I think that’s exactly what you need in capture point games. Nobody really wants to be a medic, so Kaos Studios did the right thing and did away with that entirely. It creates a harsh reality of quick death online until you learn to be more careful, but I think that ultimately results in a much more entertaining game.

Colorbar

The other game you can read about is another I found to weigh in closer to the top end of the scale, FlatOut: Head On. If you dig racing games (and crashing games) and have a PSP, you really can’t go wrong with it. The nu-metal will grate with some folks, but you can turn that off, and the rest is definitely good enough to keep your interest for a very long time.

It’s one of the few PSP games that seems built for portable play, and I think that’s one of the most important things when you’re looking at handheld titles. I don’t want my games on the go to keep me tied up when I have to shut the lid or flick the switch and I really prefer when I can be at the end of a segment before having to do that. FlatOut: Head On gets that right. Definitely check out the review if you’re looking for some racing on PSP.

Colorbar

There’s more on the way with my reviews of Pro Evolution Soccer 2008 on all major console platforms submitted. I’ll be sure to post here when that pops up. Also, I’m working on something else for Crispy while also checking out some games Sega dropped in my box. One of those is Viking: Battle for Asgard from Creative Assembly which I’ve already had some decent fun with. It sure is a pretty game, especially after you drive away the forces of Hel and make things all spring-like again. The brawling combat is a good time also.

Speaking of a brawl, the kids got Super Smash Bros. Brawl from the Easter Bunny and they’re in Nintendo heaven with that one. I’m right there with them wishing I had more time to play it, too. It’s hard to believe that the game surpasses Super Smash Bros. Melee because that title was already tipping the meter toward brilliance, but Brawl is easily the better game. It’s the kind of game that you know you’ll still be playing until they make another one… if they ever do. I don’t know where they’d even go next.

As an aside, a lot of what’s cool in the unlocking of stuff in Brawl was cribbed from the completely underrated Kirby Air Ride. I’m really glad to see designer Sakurai not turn his back on that title developed while he was still at Nintendo. It may not have come together perfectly, but that game is one my kids still play, and with good reason. It’s a quick and entertaining racing romp that contains a lot more technique than is evident at first glance, but its real genius was the unlocks board where you kept getting neat stuff just for playing the game and trying different things.

I really can’t wait to see what Sakurai works on next!

Colorbar

One Response to Between Gigs

  1. Games Diary says:

    🙂

    Good read! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

