A different kind of busy

Not a whole lot of gaming happened this weekend, unless you’re talking about the outdoor variety with kids in the starring roles.

My oldest son’s soccer team got pounded 6-1 on Saturday, though we played a lot better than the score shows. All coaches say that crap, right? At least this time it’s mostly true. We had a bunch of breakdowns that resulted in goals, but still had pressure on their net a number of times throughout the game. I was proud of my guys for playing hard the whole way through regardless of score. We’ll improve by next weekend again. It’s been an education now that we’ve moved up a level competition-wise. You just can’t make mistakes like we could in the fall.

His baseball team looks really good, though. Despite losing the exhibition game on Saturday, they made some great plays and gained confidence. The most surprising thing was our pitching, including my boy. The difference in his ability from last year to this year is immense. It helped that he took a two-day clinic, but it’s not all that. He’s put a lot of good work into his on-field performance. I don’t push him or my other boys like a lot of parents seem to do. We’re there to have a good time and just improve at the game. That said, he’s got a good school career ahead of him if he keeps this up.

The other two boys are settling into their coach pitch team. Not a lot to report there other than me being really worn out from all this coaching. I’m essentially a head coach (soccer) and an assistant (twice!) this spring so I’ve got very little time to breathe during those after work hours. With today being a completely off day, I just watched some auto racing (great IndyCar race… kind of dull Formula One event) and took my oldest for a bat and new glove. It was good to just relax for a change.

Back to the day job, coaching and video game reviewing this week. I should have final code for my next Crispy Gamer review any day now. I’m pretty excited about that and looking forward to the next one after it, too. I’ll have some time in between to play whatever I want so expect some updates then. C&C3: Kane’s Wrath did get some of my time this weekend and it’s still entertaining me. I need to get online with it, though. PS3 was a nice change of pace for some Internet browsing today. Don’t underestimate the utility of that device for regular old web browsing. It’s a lot better than you might think.

Kids keep on hammering on Super Smash Bros. Brawl. The Subspace Emissary is easily their favorite mode right now. Oh yeah, there’s a new Metal Gear Solid 4 wallpaper for PS3. Download it if you can. It’s cool.

Leave a Reply

