GT5 Preview

It’s almost too late, but my preview of Gran Turismo 5 Prologue finally made it onto Crispy Gamer.

The most enlightening part of putting that together was the fact it’s been ten years since Gran Turismo created the “Real Driving Simulator” genre of console games. That’s also how long we’ve been using a DualShock controller on Sony consoles as it shipped right alongside GT if I recall correctly.

As if attempting to recreate that same synergy ten years later, DualShock 3 is now available only a week before the ship date for Gran Turismo 5 Prologue and Sony’s popular racing series is there to show off rumble once again.

It certainly can’t hurt to have an extra feature on the PS3 controller. Some people really dig the shaking. I usually can live without it, but occasionally it’s put to good use. I’m not too sure that $54.99 is the price I want to pay for a videogame controller, but at $39.99 for a Wii Remote and $19.99 for a Nunchuk, Nintendo isn’t exactly cutting us a deal on peripherals either. Hopefully as SIXAXIS fades away, I can pick up a couple on the cheap to have four players in Calling All Cars.  It might be the only game I ever play with more than two on a PS3, but having played it before, I think it’s definitely worth it.

Anyway, on to the final shipping version of GT5 Prologue. You’ll hopefully see that review on CG soon.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I just got back from the Flyers game and I’m bushed.

Leave a Reply

