People Really Do Win at Gametap

I’ve been buying a bunch of classic games from eBay lately. A particular seller was clearing out what seemed like an entire collection of Sega Genesis, Sega Saturn, Master System and Sega CD games. Buy more than one and pay only $1 for each additional game’s shipping. That’s usually too good a deal for me to pass up, especially if the games are semi-rare. You can grab one or two of those higher priced titles and bundle in a bunch of common stuff and pay a very reasonable price. Last week’s winnings included Alisia Dragoon, Atomic Runner, Bio-Hazard Battle, Combat Cars, and Newman Haas IndyCar Racing. Only the first two cost me more than a couple bucks each, but it was nice to throw in a couple other items with them.

Since I’ve been doing all this eBay buying, boxes have been arriving fairly regularly. However, we were on vacation the week before and I pretty much avoided the Internet as much as possible during that time. I didn’t expect to receive anything this past week, but a box showed up for me on Thursday. I honestly had no clue what it could be. Imagine my surprise when I opened it and found this…

A winnar is yuo!

A winnar is yuo!

Yes! Contest winnings!

The week before we left for vacation, I spent a Monday evening playing H.E.R.O. by Activision for the Atari 2600 on Gametap. Every Monday they have a new high score contest and there are prizes for the top ten scores in the current week’s game. I stumbled onto the promotion a couple months ago and wanted to pariticpate sometime but just forgot or didn’t have the chops to enter. Dig Dug was the week before and I couldn’t get back to a reasonably competitive level in that one, so I decided to wait for a later contest.

H.E.R.O. was the one. I didn’t start playing the game until that Monday. I flicked it on for the first time around 5:30 or so after work. I was in the top ten by 7 PM, but not real firm. I took breaks here and there throughout the evening and by maybe 11 o’clock I knew I was solidly in the top ten. I really didn’t know if there were better prizes for better positions in the list so I kept playing right up to the deadline of midnight. I managed to unseat someone right at 11:55 to claim sixth. It was very cool. More amazing was the fellow who won posting the best score in Gametap’s history, nearly matching the Twin Galaxies record for the game.

I figured the prize would be either A) lame or B) never arrive. A Gametap t-shirt and water bottle aren’t all that bad for a night of playing a great game from the past. The included certificate was a nifty bonus. It’s one of those things that no one cares about except those of us who participated, but it certainly beats playing the latest five hour blast-fest and watching cutscenes all night long. H.E.R.O. holds up really well after all these years and would make a pretty cool retro remake if someone were so inclined.

Unfortunately, I totally forgot about the contest on August 4. Galaga was the game and I’m a pretty good Galaga player. Maybe next time…

Anyway, if you want to see the contest page and me in the list, look for Grimrod on the right at this page…

http://www.gametap.com/events/eventDetail.do?eventId=696722

Leave a Reply

