I Took the Red Pill

That’s right, the rabbit hole goes this deep already…

Bigger, Badder, Better

Bigger, Badder, Better

So what are they? From left to right…

  • Neo Turf Masters
  • Robo Army
  • Art of Fighting 2
  • Samurai Shodown II
  • Crossed Swords
  • Ghost Pilots
  • King of Fighters ’94
  • World Heroes
  • Samurai Shodown
  • Super Baseball 2020
  • World Heroes 2 Jet
  • Fatal Fury Special
  • Magician Lord
  • Art of Fighting
  • Baseball Stars 2

Once I get the new TV stand built and the other consoles set up, I’ll post a pic of that too. I’m already using an analog monitor for the games. It’s the best picture quality you can get for these older systems. Believe it or not, it’s a Commodore 1084S that you would have found on many an Amiga or C64/128 user’s desktop back in the 80’s. I’m hoping to hack a cable for RGB input in the future, but right now I’m using composite. It’s still a massive increase in picture quality over even the Sony Trinitron I was using before.

What you really notice on these old monitors is how the reds don’t bleed into all the other colors the way they do on standard television screens. The edges are sharper, but not to the point of looking “computery” the way they do on a PC in MAME without filtering/scanlines. Sure, the MAME look is truly the way the sprites looked on someone’s screen when they were initially created, but the free anti-aliasing you get from a TV or monitor was a part of gaming in the 80’s and 90’s. That’s something I can’t give up because it’s more exact with that little bit of “smudge” for lack of a better word.

RGB is the best you can do for all these older systems, but there are no cables available that aren’t hacks of some kind. Usually you have to build it yourself. Even just talking about this reminds me that the monitor is analog, and I feel like one of those guys who enjoys records more than CDs because “something is lost” when you go to digital. Since I’m also one of those who likes the sounds of records better than CDs (and way more than MP3s), I guess this is just my way of bucking the digital world in videogames too. Heh.

On a completely unrelated note, I haven’t done anything for Crispy Gamer lately but that should change in the coming months as more games start hitting the shelves. I’m already on for two unreleased titles and hope to do a lot more. Expect to see those links appearing here from September to January/February.

Leave a Reply

